Everybody’s favourite problem

I don’t know what I did or am doing, but all of a sudden my digestive system seems okay. I am a lot less bloated than even a week ago, and a lot more regular, too. Sorry for sharing that, but these things matter. A lot. My skin is almost clear and I am sleeping better (when I can find the time). The girls have seasonal rhinitis, but otherwise things are pretty good in our household at the moment.

It’s a little creepy, to tell the truth, since I really am not sure what’s changed.

It’s true that I have cut back on the coffee (not cut out, note). The same goes for sugars – I have less than one fruit a day, and about half a teaspoon of honey in the same period. (Unless I run out of coconut oil, in which case I need something in my cocoa besides the cinnamon, don’t I?). I’ve been having a quarter teaspoon of baking soda in half a glass of water every morning and evening, and taking market-made Swedish bitters (rather than the commercial kind). Maybe those things are helping?  I’ve also been drinking less water. I know that’s a little unusual in a health improvement, but I was having up to three litres a day until a couple of weeks ago, and I’ve read that doing that can dilute your nutrients and make you tired. Although in the end it turned out that missing out on four or five hours of sleep a night was in fact the cause of my exhaustion. Ta Da! Mystery solved.

So now my stomach is flat and comfortable, my skin is nearly presentable in public, my hair is shiny and I am slowly getting back my energy (which is sleep-related and not diet-related).

Here’s the problem: I can’t stop losing weight. When I stared this, I was at a comfortable weight. I wouldn’t have minded shifting two or three kilos, but I really wouldn’t have minded not shifting those kilos, either. I was fine. My main thought was better concentration and – most of all – a comfortable gut! okay, I have those, but even though I eat all the time, I am now *technically* underweight. What shall I do? It’s not a problem I thought I’d face in my life, ya know?

As a potential remedy, yesterday we introduced sweet potatoes. I was a little bloated afterwards, but nothing serious and that could well have been from the fact that, breaking my pattern, I’d had TWO bananas AND a pear during the day. I’ll try the sweet potatoes again today, and see what happens.

I also had the most amazing night’s sleep last night, weird dreams notwithstanding. So it’s Friday, and the outlook is good.

 

Leave a Reply

