Short and sweet

It seems I’m not being as consistent with these blog updates as I intended. This is just a short post to update things. Basically, SCD is working well for us all and we’re seeing a lot of benefits. However, we still have cocoa from time to time (because it’s awesome), so I guess technically we’re more Paleo than SCD.

I’ve been fairly “good” about not having any fructose. So far I’ve had an average of half a banana per day, and that’s about the extent of it. I can feel a difference in my body, though I do need to cut out the banana. I’m working on that.

My skin is clearing up, and my digestion is less sluggish (though far from sorted). I also really can’t tolerate seeds, which make me break out and twitch. It’s a pity because they’re delicious, affordable, and something to eat. I’ve lost 7.5kg since starting SCD, and I’m now below my healthy BMI range. Since I was actually quite content with my weight before I started, this is not really a “win”, as it were. I don’t mind, don’t get me wrong. But I do need to bulk up somehow, and I really need a new wardrobe – especially for meetings.

Aunty Em herself has lost a total of just over 20kg, and looks amazing. People don’t recognise her, and it has happened that good friends have walked right by her, not realising it was her! She’s being so good and enjoying it as well. I am very proud of her.

All in all, we need more sleep and (probably) more iron, but SCD is great and Candida is not. Hopefully when I can start eating fruit again, I can starting gaining a little of the weight I’ve lost (in the RIGHT places!) and look a bit more human. Just a bit.

Leave a Reply

