Getting the balance right.

Aromat: packaged poison.

Aromat: packaged poison.

Last week I posted a frustrated update on our health and how exhausted and sick I felt. I did some serious soul-searching and realised that the cause for these symptoms lay not with SCD, but with me. Firstly, I had eaten a miniscule piece of a pork chop which was literally covered in Aromat (pure MSG!) I thought a tiny bit would be okay but, evidently, I was wrong. (I also had about 3 tablespoons of red wine – which was delicious. Between the sulphur and the yeast-feeding alcohol and my personal convictions, this was not smart).

Secondly, I was getting up at 4AM to go running every day (which is awesome), and then working until after 10 at night. Not smart. After reading a fascinating article at brainpickings (LOVE this site), I realised that I really need to pay more attention to getting enough rest, and stop equating sleep with laziness and sloth.

I also spoke to others on SCD and saw how well they’re doing – including my sister, who is very like me in many ways. I finally realised that my old friend Candida had reared it’s ugly head, and that it was time to really address this issue properly. I’ve been trying to cut out sugar (well, fruit and honey), and found it nearly impossible to do so. Apparently this is a symptom of a candida infestation. I was very motivated and inspired by an article at Health Extremist, which outlines the reasons to follow the yeast free diet, how to do it (very basically) and how long it takes to see results. I’ve often given up if I don’t see results within a week or so, but it really takes up to three months to see any improvement. So, we’ll see. I’ll go sugar free from tomorrow (since today’s already shot), and monitor the results. I’m very hopeful about the outcome, and looking forward to MUCH better health!

Leave a Reply

