Under the weather

Despite eating no carbs, drinking no alcohol, completely eschewing all processed foods, and focusing on organic and healthy choices, I am bloated, constipated and sore. My skin is terrible – I look like a wrinkle-faced teenager who’s just hit puberty! My joints ache and I’m exhausted. My hair is dull and lifeless. I am utterly despondent – my so-called SCD lifestyle miracle is not helping me right now, and neither is the two grand’s worth of supplements in my medicine cabinet. Despite working out six days a week (cardio AND weights), in moderation, and getting enough sleep, I have no energy, no motivation. I am focusing on cultivating a more joyful attitude to life, and today, it’s not happening. I want to be svelte and unbloated. I want clear skin, bright eyes, and shiny hair. I want energy, passion and zest for life.

I want health.

If this isn’t the way to get it, what in the world is?

5 thoughts on “Under the weather

  1. Based on your other posts, it looks like you’re not far in at all. You know these things take time, right? You’re undoing years of damage on your body and gut. Also, during the first couple weeks, it’s not uncommon to feel tired and crappy. This is normal, and known as low-carb flu, but you have to get past this hump to feel better. I’d also recommend cutting back on some of your workouts for the time being. It sounds like you could be overdoing it. Be careful with which SCD legal foods you are eating too — your body might not be ready for those. It’s crucial to go slow and not rush the process! Let me know if you need any further advice. I’m happy to share my experience and what I know.

    • Thanks for all the comments. You really helped me to stop and think about things. We’ve been doing SCD for 6 months and seen some amazing results. The real problem, I think, was me being irritated by not being able to eat so many things. It’s not just the SCD-illegals – we can’t have nuts or dairy, either. And now sunflower seeds are off the list too. Some days it seems all I can eat safely is lettuce and cucumber. But I do feel MILES better, my whole family is benefitting, and I really shouldn’t have eaten that MSG and set myself back. Taking a work out break has also helped me to regain my energy and perspective. Thanks again!

  2. Pingback: Getting the balance right. | Aunty Em's

Leave a Reply

